Short History of CSP:

The Chemical Society of Pakistan (CSP) was established in 1968 and its first extraordinary meeting held on 20th of Jan. 1968 in which aims & objectives of the society were defined and appointment of the office bearers made to start working of the society. It was also decided to write a constitution and get the society registered with the appropriate authorities. The first executive council of the society had Prof. Dr. Khawaja Salah-Ud-Din, Prof. Dr. Riaz-Ur-Rahman and Prof. Dr. M.I. D. Chughtai as President, Secretary and Treasurer respectively. After this initial enthusiasm and activities, the society remained a little bit dormant and, then, its activities revived in late eighties with Prof. Dr. M. A. Kazi, Dr. Aejaz Ahmad Malik and Prof. Dr. G. A. Miana as President, Secretary General and Treasurer of the society respectively. After this the society managed to establish a tradition of holding regular elections after every three years to select the new executive with a few occasions of logically minor delays. Further on the office bearers of the Society included names such as Prof. Dr. Atta-ur-Rahman, Prof. Dr. Zafar H. Zaidi, Prof. Dr. Viqar-uddin and Prof. Dr. Roshan Ahmad as Presidents, Prof. Dr. G. A Miana, Prof. Dr. M. Iqbal Choudhary, and Dr. Din Mohammad as Secretary Generals and Prof. Dr. Noor Ahmad, Prof. Dr. Rasul Jan and Dr. Farnaz Malik as treasurers respectively. The Present executive includes Dr. Din Mohammad, Dr. Khalid M. Khan and Prof. Dr. Jamil Anwar as President, Secretary General and Treasurer of the Society respectively.

A draft constitution of the society existed from the very early days and each subsequent executive council worked for making it more vibrant with the existing situation. However this draft constitution served its purpose to provide guidelines for smooth running of the affairs of the society without any official registration till 2001 when the society, following constitutional guidelines, was registered at Islamabad under the registration No. RS/ICT/364 of 2001. It was soon realized that the society must possess a head quarter building to be used as central office. A PC-1 for the same was prepared in 2002 for a total cost of Rs. 2.824 millions to be at the premises of the Department of Chemistry, Quaid-i-Azam University Islamabad. An approval of the same was possible in 2003 and, after a lot of consultation; foundation stone laying ceremony was held on 9th of March 2006 by Prof. Dr. Atta-ur-Rahman. The construction work was completed by June 2007 and the building was finally occupied by the Chemical Society of Pakistan in July 2007 as a permanent central office of the Chemical Society of Pakistan. It’s name has been coined as the “Country Coordination Centre in Chemical Sciences” (CCCCS) which will be working under the administrative control of the Chairman Department of Chemistry Quaid-i-Azam University Islamabad and to be used by the Chemical Society of Pakistan as its central office.

At present the Chemical Society of Pakistan has a total membership of over 700 with five chapters such as Islamabad, Sindh, Punjab, KPK and Balochistan. Members from AJK(Islamabad) are separately grouped under AJK which may be declared as a separate chapter in the near future. The membership status included Life, Five yearly annual, annual and student members. The Society regularly publishes the Journal of The Chemical Society of Pakistan and the News letter Al-Chemy.

The Head Quarter building i.e. the central office known as the Country Coordination Centre in Chemical Sciences (CCCCS) is situated near the Department of Chemistry, Quaid-i-Azam University Islamabad, which, in future, will be run with help of permanent staff consisting of a manager, a data assistant/receptionist and a niab qasid.


Go Back



Untitled Document

© 2009 The Chemical Society of Pakistan, All Rights Reserved.

Contact Address: The Chemical Society of Pakistan, Country Coordination Centre in Chemical Sciences (C4S), Department of Chemistry, Quaid-i-Azam University, Islamabad.
Telephone: +92-51-2601055, +92-051-9064-2007, +92-051-9064-2117.
Email: ,


Site best view in 1024X768